Inventing new measures of time with F#


A short interlude from my little “solving games in F#” series today.

I’ve recently moved house and was trying to figure out how long it would take to get to work. I started thinking about this problem in terms of minutes until I realised that I really wanted to calculate it in a much more important measure of time – Dream Theater songs. This is a new unit of time I have recently devised. Each unit represents the average time to listen to a single Dream Theater song. So a journey to the shops might be 2 Dream Theaters, whilst going to work might be a few more of them (If you’ve ever listened to Dream Theater, you’ll know that a typical piece might last anywhere from 3 or 4 minutes up to some 25 minutes epics).

I started by defining some common units augmenting the inbuilt units supplied with F#, along with some simple conversions: –

I didn’t want to just guess what a DT really is, so of course it’s F# to the rescue. First thing, let’s calculate the average duration of a single Dream Theater song. Where do we get that data? Wikipedia, of course. A short while later, and we have the DT wikipedia page saved locally, which contains a nice HTML table with all songs, and their lengths. After a tiny bit of cleaning up the HTML to remove some extraenous elements, we can now do use the HTML type provider in FSharp.Data to do something like this: –

So, now that we’ve determined that the average length of a Dream Theater song is 8.44 minutes, let’s calculate my journey to work in DTs:

On average I can listen to just over 5 Dream Theater epics on my way into work. Or in other words, my door-to-door journey from home to work takes around 5.33 DTs 🙂

5 thoughts on “Inventing new measures of time with F#

  1. This post helps me a lot, thank you….

    But can you explain this line?
    (type Wikipedia = HtmlProvider)

    How do you get the DreamTheaterSongs.htm ? Is it a Wikipedia page or just a sample page that you created?

    BTW, I am also a DT fan… 🙂

    1. You can point directly to an HTTP resource, but in this case I downloaded the page locally – I believe I made some minor modifications to the page but essentially it was taken directly from Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

