Back from an F# course!


Just a quick plug for F#.. earlier this week I went on to learn a bit more about F# on this course run by Phil Trelford and Tomas Petricek. Really, really good course (thanks guys!) – perhaps I was slightly lucky in that the course wasn’t massively subscribed so I felt comfortable bombarding them with questions throughout! Also met some other like-minded coders on the course which is always great to do.

It’s an intensive course (at least, I found it to be) – jumps right into coding, and I was glad to have read up and spent a bit of time playing with F# before attending the course. I left with a much better understanding of the language and just how powerful it is – it’s undoubtedly a terse language insofar as the syntax of the language, but really does offer lots over and above C#. Not that C# isn’t a great language, but I must admit to a little come-down when I went back to work the next day.

I would say that the course didn’t follow exactly the syllabus on the website – Rx wasn’t really covered (although I’ve used that before so not bothered), and the UI side of things was in WPF rather than Silverlight (again, not bothered as they are both pretty much the same from a XAML perspective). Overall the course aims were as described i.e. give you a good grounding in the core constructs of the language and giving you a real world domain modelling application to write.

I’m going to try to spend some of my own time this year brushing up on the language as it’s something that I felt quite excited about during the course but I know that if I don’t stick with it, I’ll soon forget it all. If you’re interested in finding out more about F# (and perhaps can get your employers to pay for the course Smile) then I’d readily recommend this course.

P.S. Another plus point was that the coffee, tea + biscuits offered by SkillsMatter were varied and of a consistently high standard – especially the pink wafers which when dunked into the coffee are delicious.

Leave a Reply

