SQL Express 2008 – Frustration in 10 easy steps!


I was looking for the SQL Express 2005 edition and came across the 2008 one. So I thought I’d give it a try – what a waste of time!

  1. Ran the installer for SQL Express 2008
  2. Wouldn’t install because I didnt have the latest version of Windows Installer (4.5).
  3. Downloaded Windows Installer 4.5
  4. Installed Windows Installer 4.5
  5. Rebooted
  6. Wouldn’t install because I didn’t have Windows Powershell installed
  7. Downloaded Windows Powershell
  8. Installed Windows Powershell
  9. Ran the installer for SQL Express 2008
  10. Wouldn’t install because I didn’t have Visual Studio 2008 SP1 installed – except I did!

Gave up after this and just got the old 2005 version of SQL Express. But not before I had to manually uninstall half of the rubbish the 2008 installer left behind on my PC.

Leave a Reply

